Slovakia – the Slovak Republic

– is 49,035 km2 and has a population of 5 500 000 inhabitants of various nationalities.

- borders on five neighbouring countries:  on Austria and the Czech Republic in the West, Hungary in the South, Ukraine in the East and on Poland in the North.   

- has been an independent country since 1 January 1993 when it came to existence following the split of the former Czech and Slovak Federative Republic (ČSFR).

- is member of the European Union from 2004

- has currency EURO from 2009



Slovakia is situated, so to speak, in the centre of Europe and  according to some measuring methodologies, the geographical centre of Europe is located in Slovakia near the municipality of Kremnicke Bane.

More than 57 per cent of the population lives in 138 towns and cities; the remaining inhabitants live in the 2,885 independent rural municipalities. The population density is 110 inhabitants per square kilometre.
Slovakia's five largest cities are as follows:
Bratislava - the capital, Košice; Prešov ; Nitra; and Žilina .
Other large towns include Banská Bystrica , Trnava , Martin , Trenčín and Poprad .




The High Tatras form the smallest European high mountain range (260 km² in Slovakia and 81 km² in Poland). They are characterised by broken relief and an extremely high concentration of natural beauty. In comparison with the Alps, they lack glaciers. Admirers fondly refer to them as the ‘miniature Alps’. The highest peak of the High Tatras and in the entire country is Gerlachovský štít (2,655 metres above sea level).

Some mountain ranges (Štiavnické vrchy, Vtáčnik, Poľana in central Slovakia, Vihorlat and Slanské vrchy in the east of the country) are of volcanic origin.
Slovakia’s more than 1,200 caves are hidden in the mountains and foothills. Many of them have gorgeous karst formations, and 14 caves are open to the general public.
The Demänovský jaskynný systém (system of caves) in the Low Tatras, that stretches more than 30 kilometres, is the longest cave. Demänovská ľadová jaskyňa and Dobšinská ľadová jaskyňa have ice formations. Ochtinská aragonitová jaskyňa (aragonite cave) is truly unique; it is one of only three aragonite caves in the world open to the general public. It constitutes a part of the caves of Slovenský kras (the Slovak Carst), which forms one unit with the caves of the Aggtelek Carst in Hungary and are enlisted in the UNESCO World Cultural and Natural Heritage List. The Dobšinská ľadová jaskyňa (cave) is also on this list.

There are more than one thousand springs of mineral and thermal mineral waters with various compositions throughout the country. Several of them are therapeutic and have been used for these purposes for several centuries. Seventeen locations with therapeutic waters, high quality medical care and international clientele are officially acknowledged by the state as spa facilities. Some of the most significant are found in the towns of Pieštany, Trenčianske Teplice, Rajecké Teplice and Bardejov. Another four locations are official climatic spas.


For more information about history, nature, towns, culture please click following links: